Consecutive Daily Shinies?!

Say it ain’t so!

Tonight was a rather simple weaving project, one I’ve indulged in before.  Perhaps, had we not gone to see The Hobbit, I’d have had adequate time for a larger or more intricate project.   That movie was friggin’ long, though, leaving us worn out and possibly sporting bed sores or at least butt blisters (is that what bedsores are?  I fear googling any ailment).  Still worthwhile, especially with my dad and mom and Eric making sideline commentary the entire time.  It’s a wonder mom didn’t get us kicked out of the theater with her threatening to sell painkillers to get tickets to Les Mis instead.

The streets of Whitefish Bay are hard, y’all.

Oooog.  Must come up with charming captions for pictures.  Hard to brain.  Too many beards in the movie.  Oh!  Yeah!  I actually took a lot of process pictures this time!

Aren't they beautiful?  I lose so much time simply staring at my twinkly things.

Aren’t they beautiful? I lose so much time simply staring at my twinkly things.

At first, I considered using that sunstone that’s half-assedly wrapped (the upside-down tear in the second cell from the left in the middle), but I’ve a more specific idea for that later on that I just did not feel like getting into tonight.  The road to the Lonely Mountain was treacherous enough to leave me wanting the familiar.  See the filigree’d piece, third cell from the left in the middle?

FILIGREE'D!  OW, MY SKIN!

FILIGREE’D! OW, MY SKIN!

After staring blankly at it, then cracked.com, then it for a good ten minutes, however, I just wasn’t feelin’ the faceted round goldstone.  Goldstone and copper is a total love story, however.

PLAYER TWO HAS ENTERED THE BUILDING

PLAYER TWO HAS ENTERED THE BUILDING

It seemed a better building point.  I suppose what I end up doing with these pieces is something like a mandala.  In that, y’know, it is one.  But not round.  What are the criteria for something to be a mandala these days?  Repetition?  Circular-ness?  It being a good and hipstery word?

Ahhh, yes, labradorite, my old, dear friend.

Ahhh, yes, labradorite, my old, dear friend.

Whomever discovered labradorite?  Thanks.  You’re my favorite being.

Well it certainly is pointy.

Well it certainly is pointy.

That’s where it ended, though.  Truth be told, I still feel like I could’ve done better.  Smaller gauge wire, for instance.  Maybe better filling of the ‘negative space’.  It also helps to know WHAT I’m trying to do with this.  Bracelet?  Earring?  Pendant?  Hey, if anyone wants to tell me what to do with it, by all means.  All great artists steal, after all, or something.

In closing, I am so, so sorry that I’m far too sleepy to photoshop Gloin in on something, or maybe a beard.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

